Music Review: The Fray – Scars & Stories

[ Artist: The Fray | Album: Scars & Stories | Year: 2012 | Genre: Piano Rock/Alternative ]
 
I’ve always been a fan of piano-infused rock music with the likes of Jack’s Mannequin and the lesser known Thriving Ivory. Enter The Fray in the mix. One thing that impresses me in a band is when the vocalist has that distinct and unmistakable sound and Fray lead singer Isaac Slade has exactly that. Let me put it this way, you’ll know it when you sing one of their songs in a karaoke and it’s hard to do the song justice let alone be better than the original — I tried and I failed!

Scars & Stories
 is The Fray’s third full-length album following their self-titled sophomore album which spawned the hits ‘You Found Me’ and ‘Never Say Never’. I remember those two songs being stuck in my head for days when I first heard that album, and this time around there are a few songs that have the same LSS effect. ‘Heartbeat’ and ‘The Fighter’ are great choices for their first two singles off this album. The latter had already spent days on repeat in my mp3 player – just a great song, great storytelling. You can almost picture the words playing out in real life or in a movie scene… think Rocky Balboa perhaps? Give it a listen.


Other than the two singles released, I can see ‘Run For Your Life’, ‘Munich’ and ‘Rainy Zurich’ being potential hits as well (that is if they ever release them as singles). A personal favorite of mine is ‘Rainy Zurich’. This song just exudes emotion and melody. (note: not recommended for listening alone on a rainy day.. while staring into oblivion #nostalgic)

The Fray has consistently put out good albums in the past with a couple of great songs in each of their releases and ‘Scars & Stories’ is no exception. Have you had the chance to hear the album/songs? Leave a comment and tell us what you think. =)

12 thoughts on “Music Review: The Fray – Scars & Stories

  1. beta video game testing
    A lot of whatever you assert happens to be supprisingly legitimate and that makes me ponder the reason why I hadn’t looked at this in this light previously. This piece really did switch the light on for me personally as far as this particular subject matter goes. Nevertheless at this time there is actually one particular issue I am not really too cozy with and whilst I try to reconcile that with the actual central idea of the point, let me observe just what the rest of your readers have to say.Well done.

Leave a Reply

