TV Show Review: Girls (HBO)

Four girls. One city. Trying to get by in the game called life with their hearts on their sleeves. No, I’m not talking about The Hills nor Sex and the City the reunion. But it’s my latest obsession in HBO after SATC. Girls is the latest brainchild of producer Judd Apatow (Knocked Up) and co-produced, directed, written, and starred (whew!) by the amazing Lena Dunham. I saw the first three episodes last week and I was instantly hooked. I don’t even know where to begin!

Image
Hannah Horvath (Dunham) has recently graduated from college and is currently struggling to find herself in the vibrant city of New York. But this self-discovery process is put into halt when her parents decided to cut her off so they can worry about their own retirement plan. This threw Hannah off the table because she feels two years of parental support is, apparently, not enough. She is a struggling writer after all, even emphasizing that she is A ‘voice’ of her generation. And now, she is forced to survive in the concrete jungle she and her other friends call home.


Of course we all know that any good show must have a stellar supporting cast and this is where her friends, Marnie Michaels (Allison Williams), Jessa Johansson (Jemima Kirke) and Shoshanna Shapiro (Zosia Marnet) come in. It amazes me how four different women with very quirky personalities can have such incredible chemistry on screen.

Image

Marnie, Hannah’s bestfriend, works at an art gallery and mainly struggles with her relationship with her long-term boyfriend. A part of me wants to slap this bitch because clearly the guy loves her yet she doesn’t know how to reciprocate that love anymore. Earth to Marnie, if you only knew how hard it is to find a decent guy these days!

Image

And then there’s the adventurous and effortlessly chic Jessa who sees herself as a citizen of the world hopping from one continent to another. I think her inability to give a single fuck is what makes the character quite charming. She is apathy personified. She just couldn’t give a damn to anything even to her own abortion, which evidently makes her the bad ass of the group.

Image

Shoshanna is probably the most different amongst all these ladies, which is quite ironic, really, as she represents the average American girl throwing in countless “like”, “totes” and “shut up” in every darn conversation. Despite her very limited vocabulary, I actually find her likable probably because we both like Sex and the City and we find refuge in self-help books that may sound very depressing to most people.

The show has received mixed reviews from people. Some loved it and some didn’t. There were some who felt this show could’ve done better by including people of different races in the cast because the rest of the world doesn’t need another all-white cast who whines about their first world problems. Another comment that I’ve read which I find rather stupid is that the cast needs to be more attractive. Seriously. I, obvi, think it’s just fantastic.

Image

Forgive me for saying this but it is only through this show that I discovered how normal people have sex. Yes, I’m talking about Hannah’s relationship with Adam, her pseudo boyfriend. I partially blame Hollywood for brainwashing me thinking that only good-looking people have the right to have sex. I mean, can you name one unattractive or average Hollywood actor in a TV series that regularly gets some? I certainly couldn’t. But more than the sexual encounters, I find it heart warming how Adam makes Hannah comfortable about herself despite having body issues.

They may not be as fashionable or gorgeous as the ladies in The Hills but this show is definitely something else. It’s the real deal. Because in reality, no one walks around the city wearing sky-high heels feeling so sure about themselves. Everyday is a struggle. There is a battle to be fought no matter how shallow or trivial they may be. I just find it entertaining how Dunham writes the script so beautifully making even the most tragic things, like finding out your ex-boyfriend is gay, into something light and laughable. They convey every emotion in its truest sense as possible, very raw and awkward yet relatable. It’s as if it was written for you just so that you feel better and know that you’re not alone.

When I was in my teens, I couldn’t wait to be in my twenties. Back then I thought twenty-year olds had everything figured out. You graduate from college, get a really awesome job and live blissfully with your partner. But now that I’m actually one of them, I couldn’t be any more wrong and the funny thing is the show has captured THAT exact same feeling. The struggle, the feeling of being lost in the dark and pretending to know what you’re doing when in reality you really are just making a complete ass out of yourself. They covered these things pretty damn good, which is why I’m adding Lena Dunham in my list of very cool people. But for the record, Lauren Conrad is still awesome in my book.

For more information about the show, you may check out the official website.

4 thoughts on “TV Show Review: Girls (HBO)

  1. Did you just describe Hannah’s relationship as heartwarming? I’m a straight male and I find it horrifying that a guy would treat someone like that, doubly so that she puts up with it; which I beleive is meant to be part of its point.

    It is a great show though, I only wish it wasn’t on Sundays because boy, is that one busy night.

    • I was pertaining to the scene in episode 3 where they were discussing about their bodies. Generally, it is a dysfunctional relationship but I can’t help but like Adam at some point. At least we agree on one thing that it is a great show! :)

      • Well Dunham has said that he is her type in reality and that she finds his attitude ‘totally hot’, which is…troubling. I guess though that it, like most of the show, is just another uncomfortable truth. We may like To think that all relationships are either perfect of nightmarish, but sometimes thy’re actually in between and a bit of both. Sometimes we like people that aren’t good for us and sometimes what we need is something damaging so that we can come out stronger and sometimes we’re all stupid or freaky.

        I don’t disagree with anything that you said in your great review though, just found that phrase a little shocking.

      • “Sometimes we like people that aren’t good for us and sometimes what we need is something damaging so that we can come out stronger”

        Best comment ever. Thank you for this. Hope you continue to read our blog! :) – Faye

Leave a Reply

